Visa Free Countries For Nigerians Passport Holders 2024| See Full List Here

The Nigerian International passport is a document needed by whoever wants to travel to another country however, there are countries that allow entry without a visa.

Many have asked if it is possible to travel without a visa from Nigeria, and the answer is yes. This page will outline the complete list of countries Nigerian citizens can enter without a permit. Nigeria ranks 99th according to the Global Rankings done by Henley & Partners and 191st according to a ranking done by Visaguide.world here.

Many factors were used in determining its position on both sites, and you can check that out once you’re done with this article. As a Nigerian passport holder, you can travel to 27 countries without a visa.

A visa is a stamp on your passport that contains essential details like your name, picture, and the number of days you can spend in the country in which embassy you were issued the visa. In addition to the 27 countries, Nigerians are also eligible to receive a permit on arrival in 19 countries per our research and a pass in 11 countries.

List Of Visa-Free Countries Nigerians Can Travel To In 2023

Before traveling to any of the visa-free countries outlined below, you must have a passport, which must have been issued six months before your planned trip. You must obtain travel health insurance depending on the country you intend on traveling to.

  1. Antigua and Barbuda: This country in the Caribbean has an official language of English. Its currency is the East Caribbean Dollar, and its population is at most 120,000, according to a report by the World Bank. According to the immigration website, Nigerians who plan on visiting for tourist purposes can be issued a visa upon arrival.
  2.  Barbados: This is an eastern Caribbean island and an independent British Commonwealth nation whose official currency is the Barbados Dollar. You do not require a visa to enter the country. However, you might need a transit visa, depending on the route.
  3.  Benin: This is one of the countries bordering Nigeria, and as a citizen, you do not require a visa to enter Benin because you’re eligible to be issued a tourist visa.
  4.  Burkina Faso: Burkina Faso is a West African Country bordered by Mali, Togo, Ghana, Ivory Coast, and Niger. Burkina Faso is a member of ECOWAS, which means that a visa is not required for our citizens to travel to each other’s country for a short time.
  5.  Cameroon: Cameroon is a Central African Country that uses CFA Franc as its official currency. It shares boundaries with Nigeria, Chad, Central African Republic, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, and The Republic Of Congo. As a Nigerian citizen, you can enter Cameroon without a visa for 90 days.
  6.  Cabo Verde: Cabo Verde, also known as Cape Verde, is officially called The Republic of Cabo Verde. It is situated in the Central Atlantic Ocean and is said to consist of 10 volcanic islands. Being an ECOWAS member country, Nigerians can enter without a visa.
  7.  Chad: Chad is a landlocked area in Central Africa and shares boundaries with Nigeria, Cameroon, Sudan, and Niger. You can enter the country without a visa but must have a passport valid for the timeline mentioned above.
  8.  Cook Islands: An island located in the South Pacific. Its official language is the New Zealand Dollar and the Cook Islands dollar. Nigerians are eligible to travel to the country without a visa for 31 days.
  9.  Ivory Coast: A West African country and member of ECOWAS that uses the West African CFA Franc as its official currency.
  10.  Dominica: This mountainous Caribbean island nation was granted independence in 1978. The currency is the East Caribbean Dollar. Nigerians are eligible to stay in Dominica visa-free for 180 days.
  11.  Fiji: A country located in the South Pacific and is an archipelago of more than 300 islands. Its official currency is the Fijian Dollar, and the country’s capital is Suva. Nigerians can visit the country without a visa for 120 days.
  12.  Ghana: A West African country whose official currency is Cedis. It shares boundaries with Burkina Faso, Ivory Coast, and Togo.
  13.  Guinea: A West African country that uses Guinean Franc as its official currency. It is an ECOWAS member country, meaning Nigerians can enter without a visa.
  14.  Guinea Bissau: A tropical West African Country officially known as The Republic Of Guinea Bissau.
  15.  Haiti: A Caribbean country situated in North America whose official currency is the Haitian Gourde. Nigerians can travel to Haiti without a visa and stay for a maximum of 90 days.
  16.  Liberia: A West African Country that shares boundaries with Sierra Leone, Guinea, and Côte d’Ivoire.
  17.  Mali: A landlocked West African country whose official currency is CFA Franc.
  18.  Micronesia is a country in Oceania and an archipelago of 2,000 small islands. Nigerians can stay in this country without a visa for at most 30 days.
  19.  Montserrat: A mountainous Caribbean Island that is also a British Overseas Territory. Nigerian citizens can stay there without a visa for six months.
  20.  Niger: Officially known as the Republic Of Niger, its capital is Niamey, and its official currency is the West African CFA Franc.
  21.  Niue: Affiliated with New Zealand; some people even mistake them for being part of New Zealand, but they’re not. Niue is a self-governing territory of New Zealand in the South Pacific Ocean.
  22.  Senegal: A West African country whose capital is Dakar, and its official currency is the West African France CFA.
  23.  Sierra Leone: A country on the southwest coast of West Africa. Its official language is English Language, and its capital is Freetown.
  24.  Saint Kitts and Nevis: This is a dual-island nation between the Atlantic Ocean and the Caribbean Sea. The official currency is the East Caribbean Dollar, and its official language is English.
  25.  Gambia: A West African country bounded by Senegal, with a narrow Atlantic coastline.
  26.  Togo: A country situated on the Gulf of Guinea, and its Capital is Lome. Being part of West Africa, Nigerians are allowed entry without a visa.
  27.  Vanuatu: A South Pacific archipelago whose capital is Port Vila. Nigerians are eligible to stay in the country for 30 days.

Countries That Issue Visa On Arrival For Nigerians

There are countries where visas are issued on entry into the country. There are a total of 17 countries that give this type of visa, and they include:

  • Cambodia
  •  Comoros
  •  Ethiopia
  •  Iran
  •  Kenya
  •  Madagascar
  •  Maldives
  •  Mauritania
  •  Mauritius
  •  Mozambique
  •  Namibia
  •  Palau
  •  Rwanda
  •  Somalia
  •  Timor-Leste
  •  Tuvalu
  •  Uganda

Countries That Issue eVisa To Nigerians

An eVisa, also known as an Electronic visa, is a document issued online by a country that allows you access to the country. They’re mostly given for short stays, and an example includes:

  • Djibouti
  •  Gabon
  •  Kyrgyzstan
  •  Lesotho
  •  Qatar
  •  São Tomé and Príncipe
  •  South Africa
  •  South Sudan
  •  Suriname
  •  Zambia
  •  Zimbabwe

A visa is needed to enter the remaining countries not listed here, and we will outline the procedures to obtain a permit in Nigeria in this section of our website.