Best 10 Universities In Sub-Saharan Africa 2024- See Complete List

Here, we will outline the top 10 best Universities in Sub-Saharan Africa. Sub-Saharan Africa is the region lying south of the Saharan desert, and countries that make up this region include Angola, Burundi, the Democratic Republic Of Congo, Cameroon, Equatorial Guinea, Botswana, Ghana, Nigeria, Comoros, Namibia, Lesotho, Benin, and Mali.

There are many renowned Universities in the Sub-Saharan region, and on this page, we compiled a list of some of the top ten. Below are some of the best 10 Universities in Sub-Saharan Africa according to Webometrics

1.University Of Cape Town – South Africa

 A renowned University in South Africa established in 1829 as the South African College but became a University in 1918. The school has six faculties and a Graduate School of Business. The available faculties include Engineering, Health Sciences, Commerce, Science, Law, and Humanities.

2.University Of Pretoria

This is the most significant contact University in South Africa that offers both Undergraduate and Post Graduate programs. They have nine faculties and a Business School at the Undergraduate level.

In addition, they also offer online programs for those who do not want to study physically. This online program is available for the nine faculties.

3.University of the Witwatersrand

Situated in the Capital, Johannesburg, this institution was established in 1896 as the South African School of Mines. The institution’s motto is Scientia et Labore, and they have five faculties, namely Commerce, Law and Management; Engineering and the Built Environment; Health Sciences; Humanities; and Science.

4.University of Johannesburg

The University of Johannesburg was founded on January 1, 2005, and was previously known as Randse Afrikaanse Universiteit (Rand Afrikaans University) from 1967 to 2004. Its motto is Service Through Knowledge, and faculties available in the institution are Arts, Design & Architecture, Education, Engineering, Health Sciences, Humanities, Law, and Science, in addition to a business school.

5.Covenant University

This is one of the leading private Universities owned by the Living Faith Church Worldwide, established on October 21, 2002. The motto of the institution is Raising a New Generation of Leaders. Covenant University has four colleges: Business and Social Sciences, Leadership and Development Studies, Engineering, and Science and Technology.

6.Makerere University

This is the oldest University in Uganda, established in 1970. It started as a technical school, but today, it has become one of the best tertiary institutions in Africa. The school has the following colleges: Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Business and Management Sciences, Computing and Information Sciences, Education and External Studies, Engineering, Design & Art Technology, Health Sciences, Humanities & Social Sciences, Natural Sciences, Veterinary Medicine, Animal Resource & Biosecurity, and College of Law. 

7.Muhimbili University of Health and Allied Sciences

Founded in 1963, the institution is situated in Upanga West, Ilala District of Dar es Salaam Region in Tanzania. It initially started as the Dar es Salaam medical school but was later upgraded to a college. It comprises the following schools: Medicine, Pharmacy, Dentistry, Nursing, and Public Health.

8.University Of Ghana

This is one of the oldest public Universities in Ghana, founded in 1948. Their colleges include Basic & Applied Sciences, Education, Health Science, and Humanities.

9.University Of Kwazulu Natal

This institution was formed due to the merger between the University of Durban-Westville and the University of Natal. It was established on January 1, 2003, and has the following colleges: the College of Humanities, College of Agriculture, Engineering & Science, College Of Health Sciences, and the College of Law & Management Studies.

10. University Of Nairobi

This is Kenyan’s largest University, established on July 1, 1970. Its motto is Unitate et labore, and it has more than 30,000 Undergraduate students. The University of Nairobi has eleven faculties with more than 50 departments.

Drop your questions in the comment section also, share this article with interested persons.